Houston, Tranquility Base here. The blog has landed.

Before I post anything else, I thought I might as well post a short intro.  I’d hate to start things off with a bare blog.  So, here are five things about me that you might want to know.

  • I grew up in Germany, Japan, and England before returning to the US at age 13.  So, yeah, I’m a DoD Brat (like a Military Brat, but my parents were civilians).  Third culture kid, and so on.  I prefer to take a global view of things, overall.
  • When it comes to art/entertainment (I don’t believe that there is any meaningful difference between the two), I tend to like just about everything.  If I’m not bored or outright offended by something, I generally don’t think it’s worthwhile to have any strong negative opinions on it.
  • Sir Terry Pratchett is, in my humble opinion, the greatest writer who has ever lived.
  • I study history, and I write a lot on the subject.  The closest thing I have to a specialization is in what the late Douglas Adams called ‘the fundamental interconnectedness of all things:’ the often surprising ways that different parts of the world have influenced each other throughout history.
  • I am neither a cat nor a dog person.  I like them both, but for very different reasons.
Categories: Personal | Tags: , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.